Inadequate toasters – My bread does not fit in the toaster.

Some won’t toast things from frozen, some are slow, some don’t toast evenly. But worst of all – some aren’t actually big enough to fit bread in. You know it to be true. Anyone who has bought the more expensive bread of Kingsmill, Hovis or Warburtons will know that sometimes – the slices just don’t fit. The slices are 14cm high and the toaster is only 12cm high.

toastie_800g

As Warburtons is my bread of choice, I thought I’d do some extremely-selfish research and find one that would house a piece of decent bread, and satisfy just my own personal needs. I took to the Internet to find one. Review after review via a variety of retailers are saying the same things:

“Does not toast premium bread”

“slots do not fit a whole slice of bread in them you have to turn the bread upside down half way through toasting otherwise youend up with bread at one and toast at the other”

(Source: http://www.reevoo.com/p/russell-hobbs-13899-14340#review_1303890 )

Or

“This is a good toaster the only problem is that we like Warburtons bread and it doesn’t fit ,it really only suits square bread.”

(Source: http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B0010NRYNM )

Or

“The slot isn’t wide enough to put the bread in properly, you have to turn it on its side. Then turn the toast so the other end gets toasted, which invariably means the middle gets burnt.
On the first few attempts of using the toaster allot o toast got burnt.”

(Source: http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/4219608.htm#pdpProductReviews )

Or

“This toaster is too small for normal size bread. Only good for very small toastie type loaves.”

(Source: http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/4237965.htm#pdpProductReviews )

Yes, I could trim it to fit. But pre-preparing every slice of bread to fit in a toaster before putting it in, is like pre-heating water before it goes in the kettle. It’s an extra step that shouldn’t be needed. I eat toast most days either with breakfast or lunch, and I don’t want the extra effort involved.

Eventually, I had my plan. I would measure a slice of Warburton’s bread, and make a paper model. I would then take this paper model to a shop (Currys, Comet, wherever), and try and see if I can fit my model slice in their toasters.

I measured my slice, and set off for Currys.

I was mostly disappointed. I tried my ‘slice’ in toaster after toaster after toaster. If the ‘bread’ was inserted the way round you should place it, when the handle was depressed, a section would stick out of the top (and thus wouldn’t be toasted). If rotated 90 degrees and put in width-wise, most toasters wouldn’t accommodate this new found bread-girth.

I ended up buy a 4 slice toaster (long) so I could toast my bread sideways.

58-4234779SPA74UC688031X

 

Leave a Reply

